The Lymphatic System

The extracellular fluid that accumulates in the lymph vessels is called lymph.

The lymphatic systems has following parts

1. Lymph capillaries

Lymphatic capillaries are small lymph vessels. They are in direct contact with extracellular fluid.

2. Lymphatics

The small lymphatic capillaries combined to form large lymphatic vessels called lymphatics. They are thin walled vessels. They have valves . These valves controls the one way flow of lymph.

3. Lymph nodes

The lymph vessels moves through the lymph nodes. Lymph nodes focus in several areas of the body. They play vital role in the defense of the organisms body against diseases. Finally, lymph return to blood.

4. Lymphoid organs

Birds, mammals lymphatic systems contains lymphoid organs. These organs are spleen, bursa of Fibricius in birds & the thymus gland ,Tonsils & adenoids in mammals.

Functions of Lymphatic system

The lymphatic system has four major functions

  1. Fluid seeps from the bloodstream. It assemble in the extracellular fluid.

  2.  Small amount of proteins may leave the cells.

  3. It absorbs & transports lipids from the small intestine.

  4. It plays defensive role against injuries and attacks.


No comments